I Love Gellies

Mormonism, Evangelicism and Chaos Theory

An Average Mormon

I heard a funny story about myself today: Apparently, I’m an average Mormon.

Several months ago when my new roommate arrived, I took him on a tour of the city, and helped him move his stuff in. You know, the same things anyone would do for a roommate. He then told his sister.

Several weeks later, his sister asked: “So how are things going with your roommate?” “Which, the member or the non-member.” She responded, “you know, the average Mormon.”

Upon hearing this response, my roommate burst into laughter, knowing that I am, by no means an average Mormon. But I guess, even when I was inactive, I acted like one. Who would’ve thunk it?

October 15, 2009 - Posted by | Religion

9 Comments »

  1. Hi PC,
    This post surprised me. Are you currently an inactive Mormon?

    Comment by Jessica | October 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Not currently inactive.
      I don’t know if I ever “technically” qualified, because I would often go to church. But Mormon culture can be very hard to deal with. I guess, suffice it to say, I have been unwilling to have a calling for the last year.

      Comment by psychochemiker | October 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. I have been unwilling to have a calling for the last year.

    Besides your online ministry to Gellies, right? šŸ™‚

    Comment by Jessica | October 17, 2009 | Reply

    • EXACTLY!

      Comment by psychochemiker | October 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. Someone’s got to minister to us poor deluded and Hellenized souls! Just glad it’s a charming scorpion and not a porcupine.

    Comment by Jessica | October 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Actually,
      I don’t view what I do as a calling. I jest about that, but I don’t think I’m trying to teach poor deluded and hellenized souls. I’m trying to share the truth that I know, and make sure that the LDS church is not maligned. There are many things wrong with Mormon culture, but it doesn’t help Mormon culture to fight the wrong things.

      I guess I’m all about making sure both sides get to represent themselves. But I ain’t the Mormon minister to Evangelicals.

      Comment by psychochemiker | October 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. I know you don’t view this as your calling. I was just teasing you šŸ™‚

    I think it’s great that you are trying to take a stand against things you see that are wrong in the Mormon culture. Do you also have any disagreements with doctrines or just culture?

    Comment by Jessica | October 18, 2009 | Reply

    • I know you were teasing Jessica. We’re cool.

      Just culture & policies.
      I have questions about doctrines.

      Comment by psychochemiker | October 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. http://wp.me/pF3iD-l

    Comment by lrwhitney | November 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

