I Love Gellies

Mormonism, Evangelicism and Chaos Theory

Anthem: A Parable

I don’t play chess. I’m not Russian. I’m incredibly patriotic to the original righteous principles of the Constitution of the United States. But to me, this song isn’t about patriotism to a nation, at least not now. If I was away from the US, (like in Germany), I might view this song within the context of how much I missed my homeland, and yet was still, at heart, fully American (albeit one fully converted to Quark, Gouda , and Schwarz-brot). I can still remember how much I longed and yearned for my homeland.

Fast forward seven years. Due to various circumstances I feel a bit separated from another important force. A lot of it arises because of things I just can’t understand. It used to be because I couldn’t understand a lot of things. The list is somewhat smaller now, but still larger than I can handle. My heart feels far away but in neighborhood but not in spirit. I know I have no idea how to leave the true love of my life, I just don’t know how to get rid of some of the damaging expectations. So my heart is gladdened by the phrase “Let men’s petty nations (forces) tell themselves apart. My land’s only borders lie around my heart.”

September 27, 2009 - Posted by | Religion

2 Comments »

  1. PC, that song is just beautiful.

    Comment by Stephanie | September 27, 2009 | Reply

    • I’m glad you liked it Stephanie.

      Comment by psychochemiker | September 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

