I Love Gellies

Mormonism, Evangelicism and Chaos Theory

Believers, Scholars, and Apologists, Polemics, and Idiots

Believers:
Humble people who believe through faith.

Scholars:
Those who try and approach texts without pre-conceived notions, and constantly challenge their preconceived notions. They do not force data to fit into their pre-conceived notions, rather force their notions to match the data.

Apologists:
Committed to supporting their faith. Can sometimes engage in tactics not honest by scholarly standards. Not always wrong, but certainly not always right.

Polemics:
Those who insist on not accurately viewing context. These are anti-Cultists that insist that LDS is not Christian, that they worship the devil, that the devil inspired the Book of Mormon. These are they the insist that only their worldview is right.

July 16, 2009 - Posted by | Religion

4 Comments »

  1. PC or Tom,

    I have a question for you but it totally doesn’t apply to this particular post. However, I didn’t have another way of contacting you. If you want to delete this comment (since it doesn’t apply) you can and it won’t hurt my feelings. 🙂

    I was talking about religion with one of my LDS friends today and she was talking about the temple recommend process. Someone we know is renewing her temple recommend and had to go confess to the bishop. This was traumatic for her and she ended up being a total basket case, crying, etc. I think she would have preferred to confess her sins to another woman or to someone she felt more comfortable with. Anyway this got us to discussing the confession hierarchy. My friend was quite sure that the bishop would confess to the stake president, the stake president to the general authorities, the general authorities to the apostles, and the apostles to the prophets. But then I asked who the prophet confessed to and she didn’t know. Do you know the answer to this question? She didn’t have any hard facts, just assumptions.

    Thanks so much!

    Stephanie

    Comment by Stephanie | July 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Stephanie,
      I sent an email to the address you listed with your comment. Let me know here if you didn’t get it.
      -PC

      Comment by psychochemiker | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks! Got the email. 🙂

    Stephanie

    Comment by Stephanie | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. […] Some have postulated that Jack does good for the LDS church. I mean, I’m doubtful that there are many Evangelicals who understand Mormonism as well as she does. I mean, she’s had a couple of years of a immersion program where she has to learn about tolerating Mormonism. Of course, I still think she has a lot to go, but she really try’s to challenge her pre-conceived notions. For these efforts, I think she’s more of a scholar than an apologist. […]

    Pingback by The Jack Clause « I Love Gellies | August 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

