I Love Gellies

Mormonism, Evangelicism and Chaos Theory

Widespread Historical Collapse

As I’ve been thinking about ‘historical collapse’ and how it relates to religion, .  I was surprised to find this topic finding so much space in my thoughts while watching the recent movie ‘Night at the Museum 2.’

So I know movies are supposed to be a time when you turn your brain off, but sometimes I can’t do that.

So, as I watched the Einstein Bobbleheads say “That’s the way, uh-uh, we like it” with a fake German accent…I thought, wtfreak? In addition to movies that portray animals with human traits, even human sexual traits (a female squirrel is more attractive because of her long lashes, Ice Age 20), can humans ever avoid historical collapse? Can humans only appreciate history if it is taken out of historical context? Some of my interactions with Evangelicals make me very pessimistic. Others show quite a bit more ability to historically contextualize.

So am I being too harsh? Or is there more that we should all be upset about.

June 28, 2009 - Posted by | Religion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

